Daily Archives: 26/03/2010

Day 37 – Another one bites the dust

Well, it happened again: I neglected to post last night. In my defense, choir practice went way past 9 p.m. And I didn’t get home til 15 or so minutes after that. Then there are the girls to greet (which, of course, involves kisses and cuddles and little squirming bodies), night clothes to change into, 5-15 minutes of TV to watch (I know, BAD UV!) in order to wind down (that’s just how I roll, folks), general tidying to do, and then of course the nightly jig I do with my younger cat getting ready for bed. So when there are fewer than 30-45 minutes between the time I get home and the time I need to go to bed, my brain fizzles out anything that is not vital to cats and the next morning’s major chore: getting to work.
On a side note, I have gone all week without coffee, and so far, so good. I was a little sluggish mid afternoon the past few days, but it’s been entirely manageable. I’m now only drinking tea and water (I didn’t entirely cut out caffeine for a specific purpose, and still may have coffee in the future as a treat, but I was beginning to associate “morning” and “work” and “awake” with “coffee,” and that was a little bit scary). Oddly enough, though, the tea I currently drink is mugicha, a Japanese barely tea (it’s drunk in other parts of the world, too). When I first tried it, I have to admit I couldn’t make up my mind as to what I thought about it. It wasn’t the tastiest thing ever, but it didn’t make me barf (my word for humans regurgitation; my word for the kitties, as in everything, is tinged with more than a hint of babyish language: “barfies.” I don’t know why it’s plural. That reminds me: I’ll have to do a post on my “kitty talk” soon.). So – mugicha – it tastes pretty OK. Now I make it by the potful and drink through an evening and the next morning. (The teapot is beautiful. I bought it a few years ago. It’s from Nigella Lawson’s kitchen line.) So tea and water, yep.

Do you have any “special” words that are blog friendly that you use with your children or pets?
What’s your favorite type of tea? Or are you a die-hard coffee drinker?
Do you have a special teapot that makes you happy when you use it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized