Patience is a virtue… and I’m still waiting for mine.

Just like my middle name is not “Grace,” neither is it “Patience.” Today while at work, I noticed on my phone that there was a web update available (i.e., a new OS update). I thought, OK, let’s do this now because by this evening it’ll be over with. It’s now almost 8 p.m. and my phone is still screwed up.

While this is “just” a phone, this has also happened to me in real life. Involving human beings. I can’t think of a specific example at the moment, but I know that sometimes, even with the best intentions, I begin something without totally thinking of the ramifications of “let’s just get this over with right now.” In this particular example with the phone, it was because I was impatient. I didn’t want to wait until I got home and could download the update and then be able to research how it might affect my phone or the apps I had installed on it. Nah. I just wanted it over with. And it was being sent out by the folks at the mobile phone company so there couldn’t be any problem, right? This is definitely not the first time my impatience has gotten me grief.

A few years ago when I installed my Tivo  box (I have recently canceled service because my refurbished Series 2 box, purchased in 2007, was acting up and I missed more than 90% of the programmed shows, and I couldn’t afford the $300+ for a new box.), I had a flambango (be prepared for random nonsense words on this blog) of a time getting it set up. I swear it was NOT meant for non-techie people. I consider myself somewhat techie, I have a Master’s of Science degree in a techie-related field, but darn if I didn’t almost give myself a coronary AND an ulcer at the same time trying to install that thing. Add into the mix a kitten who was DYING for attention, and my impatience grows. Said kitten had to be put in the bedroom for the THREE HOURS (that’s correct) it took me, including phone calls to Dad, to install the box. I cried. I screamed. I apologized to my dad, the poor guy. (I never said I was perfect.) I cursed. Some. OK, a lot. It was ugly. But in the end I had the stupid thing set up.

I was proud of myself in the end for having accomplished it myself. (If you’ve seen the back of a Tivo box, you KNOW it’s not meant for long-distance help from a friend if that friend doesn’t have his or her own Tivo box in front of them. It’s just not possible.) But what is it worth when you put stress on yourself and your loved ones? It’s NOT worth it. At all.

So, whom have I bugged these 5 hours since starting to update (FIX) my phone? No one. I haven’t yelled at all. (Part of that may have to do with the fact that my new-ish neighbor who stomps all around his apartment knocked on my door for the first time since he/they moved in, and I, home from work and working on All Things Cell Phone [and catching up w/ DVR shows], had already changed into appropriate night attire. Fully covered. But not fit for strangers in the dark doorways. Plus my two cats have to be herded into the bedroom before I open the front door to anyone. And that wasn’t going to happen quickly. So anyway, I’m trying to be extremely quiet this evening to try and make them think that maybe I just fell asleep.)

Oh well. What does this post have to do with finding my voice? Hmm. I’m not sure. But I did say in my first post that I would be writing about a whole bunch of different topics. Can’t really file this one under anything special. That’s OK though.

So, has anyone else dealt with a lack of patience? What are some times that your patience has been stretched? How did you handle the situation?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Patience is a virtue… and I’m still waiting for mine.

  1. Red

    Biggest patience-tester for me: Trying to explain anything even remotely tech-related to my 59-year-old grandmother over the phone. She drives me nuts asking the same questions over and over, not understanding what I mean unless I use the simplest of language. I operate under the assumption that most people have a basic knowledge of computers, but with her, I have to approach it like I’m telling a newborn squirrel how to access their e-mail. Very frustrating!

    Another big one is when someone calls our office and tells me their life history immediately. I understand that they need to speak with someone, but that someone isn’t me. I direct them to the right person, and they have to start all over again. But it’s taught me to always say upfront who I need to speak with when I call a business, instead of just assuming the person who answers can help me.

Leave a Reply

