Sweetness and Generosity

OK. I apologize that I have not been as consistent with posting here as I’d intended. I don’t even know if I have any followers (I don’t think so, yet). But still. It was something I’d planned on doing and didn’t keep up with.

For today, I’m going to post a few links to just a few things…

First, as I try to work more on meal planning, I find that though I do want to plan, I want to make sure that I am not spending oodles of time in the kitchen. So what’s better than quick, healthy desserts? The first link I have is to a recipe of Susan Voisin’s FatFree Vegan Kitchen: Microwave Apples Baked Two Ways. Both look delicious! Between the two, I think the Blueberry-Filled Baked Apple is something I’d try sooner. I like raisins, too, but berries are so so healthy and lower in sugar.  (By the way, Susan’s recipes, I believe, are always accompanied by delicious photos. She makes vegan food look–to those who perhaps might not be so inclined–mouthwatering.) Be sure to check out her blog. Recipes always included!

Second,something that is very near and dear to my heart, and actually not too far afield from the above site, is animal welfare. With the recent earthquake in Haiti, millions and millions of dollars have been raised to help the situation there: for rescue, recovery, food and water, and many other things. And rightly so. I did wonder, however, who, if anyone, would be specifically looking out for the animals: farm animals, companion animals, etc. For though we consider our Fluffy and Rover to have some attributes of wildness, or perhaps think that they will be able to quite easily survive in the wild if need be, the truth is that while some might, our domestic and companion animals, especially if they are indoor animals, rely solely on us for food and water. My two cats were found wandering the streets at ages 2.5 months and 3 months, respectively. I honestly do not know how they would fare in the wild. My point is that there are so many organizations looking out for needs of the people in Haiti. And these are crucial. But I don’t see life as either/or, black/white. I see life as LIFE. And while I understand our first reaction or response is to help people, I firmly believe that, as much as possible, we also have an obligation to help our fellow creatures. So, though I donated to the relief cause through a particular charity that has a wonderful track record and who was on the ground before the earthquake (and who thus could get to work right away), I did have a sore place in my heart for the animals who, in my mind, weren’t being looked out for.

That is where the International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW) and the World Society for the Protection of Animals (WSPA) come in. These two organizations have joined with others to form ARCH: Animal Relief Coalition for Haiti. According to the ASPCA, there are approximately 5 million head of livestock in the country (mostly goats), a large stray dog population, and an untold number of companion animals and native wildlife all adversely affected by the earthquake.” Besides food and other supplies, IFAW and WSPA will provide a mobile clinic with vaccines, antibiotics, bandages. What’s more, the ASPCA is no longer even accepting donations for Haiti-related relief. Instead, it urges you to donate to ARCH through one of these organizations.

Please consider donating any amount for animal relief in Haiti. Here are the links again:

International Fund for Animal Welfare

World Society for the Protection of Animals

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

