Day 2 – Polly Wolly Doodle

One of my unique (or not so unique?) abilities is that if I hear someone say a word/phrase that in ANY way can be connected to a song, my brain makes me sing it. Same thing if I just hear a few notes (no singing, just notes, like being played on a piano). My brain just tells me what song it’s from. Here’s an example (though this one is admittedly also for my own conscience/head, since I am not aware of ever ever ever ever saying this word): If someone curses “JC” (we all know what that means), my brain makes me sing, in key, “Superstar, do you think you’re what they say you are? Jesus Christ Superstar, do you think you’re what they say you are?” (I hope that’s obvious enough. For all you non-musical theater geeks, that’s from the Andrew Lloyd Weber musical of the same name.)

So tonight, in choir, as our director was plunking out some parts for either the altos or a men’s section, I heard a few notes that could have seemed random to the casual listener. But my brain filled in words immediately: “Polly Wolly doodle all the day.” What the heck? I don’t think I’ve heard or sung that song since first grade, back when there was a piano in every room and our teachers taught us spelling, math, art, science, and music. Back when we still had PE in school. So, for the fun of it, I’ll close this post with the lyrics of Polly Wolly Doodle.

Oh, I went down South
For to see my Sal
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day
My Sal, she is A spunky gal
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Fare thee well, Fare thee well,
Fare thee well my fairy fay
For I’m going to Lou’siana For to see my Susyanna
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Oh, my Sal, she is A maiden fair
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day
With curly eyes And laughing hair
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Fare thee well, Fare thee well,
Fare thee well my fairy fay
For I’m going to Lou’siana For to see my Susyanna
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Behind the barn, Down on my knees
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day
I thought I heard A chicken sneeze
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Fare thee well, Fare thee well,
Fare thee well my fairy fay
For I’m going to Lou’siana For to see my Susyanna
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

He sneezed so hard With the whooping cough
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day
He sneezed his head And the tail right off
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Fare thee well, Fare thee well,
Fare thee well my fairy fay
For I’m going to Lou’siana For to see my Susyanna
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Oh, a grasshopper sittin’ On a railroad track
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day
A-pickin’ his teeth
With a carpet tack
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Fare thee well,
Fare thee well,
Fare thee well my fairy fay
For I’m going to Lou’siana For to see my Susyanna
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Oh, I went to bed But it wasn’t any use
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day
My feet stuck out Like a chicken roost
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Fare thee well, Fare thee well,
Fare thee well my fairy fay
For I’m going to Lou’siana For to see my Susyanna
Sing Polly wolly doodle all the day

Source: http://kids.niehs.nih.gov/lyrics/polly.htm

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

